PCB Confirms Expansion of Pakistan Super League to Eight Teams from 2026 Season

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Friday that the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will expand from six teams to eight teams starting in the 2026 season. According to the PCB, the 2025 season will be the last one featuring only six teams.

This decision follows a long-standing agreement between the PCB and the current PSL franchises to wait until after the tenth season to add more teams. Since the league’s inception, the only addition has been the Multan Sultans in 2018, bringing the total to six franchises.

The process for determining which cities the two new teams will represent has not yet begun. The expansion aligns with the end of the current ten-year lease agreements with the existing franchise owners in 2025. Although the Multan Sultans joined two years later, their lease will also be up for renewal. All six current franchise owners have the first right of refusal to retain ownership by matching the value of their franchises.

A significant issue for the PSL’s future is scheduling. Traditionally held in February and March, the PSL may face conflicts with the Champions Trophy next year and other leagues like ILT20 and SA20, which also compete for this window. The PCB is considering shifting the PSL to April and May, though this might overlap with the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.