No Pakistani player made it to the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2023

The ICC has unveiled the T20I Team of the Year for 2023, with India’s Suryakumar Yadav named as the captain. This recognition is a result of exceptional performances throughout 2023, acknowledging excellence in batting, bowling, or all-round contributions.

Despite the absence of Pakistani players, the XI is predominantly comprised of Indian cricketers. Alongside captain Suryakumar Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravi Bishnoi, and Arshdeep Singh have secured positions in the team.

Jaiswal, who made his debut in 2022, was selected as the opener alongside England’s Phil Salt. Jaiswal’s impressive 430 runs in 14 innings at a strike rate of 159 played a significant role in his inclusion. Salt, with 331 runs in a T20I series, outshone other top-scoring batters.

Wicket-keeper batter Nicholas Pooran of West Indies claimed the No. 3 spot, with Suryakumar Yadav leading the team as captain. Mark Chapman of New Zealand and Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza occupied the No. 5 and No. 6 positions, respectively.

The lower order featured Uganda’s Alpesh Ramjani and Ireland’s Mark Adair at 7 and 8. Ramjani topped the T20I wickets chart with 55 wickets at an economy of 4.77, while Adair took 26 wickets at an economy of 7.42.

Completing the bowling attack, India’s Ravi Bishnoi, Zimbabwe’s Richard Ngarava, and India’s Arshdeep Singh secured spots. Arshdeep claimed 26 wickets in 21 appearances, Bishnoi secured 18 wickets, ascending to No.1 on the ICC T20 Bowling Rankings, and Ngarava took 26 wickets in 15 matches, conceding only 5.63 runs per over. This lineup reflects the outstanding performances that defined T20I cricket in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.